Skip to content

Public Notices


NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the School Board (the “Board”) of Independent School District No. 173 (Mountain Lake Public Schools), Cottonwood, Jackson, and Watonwan Counties, Minnesota (the “District”), will meet on Tuesday, February 22, 2022, at or after 5:30 PM in Room #101 of the Mountain Lake High School, 450 12th St N., Mountain Lake, Minnesota 56159, Minnesota, to hold a public hearing concerning a proposal that the District abate all or a portion of property taxes levied by the District on the properties in the District with the following property identification numbers (the “Property”): 11-036-0302 12-003-0500 12-013-0100 12-025-0500 12-016-0500 22-003-0100 The total amount of the taxes proposed to be abated by the District on the Property is estimated not to exceed $555,000, collected over a term not exceeding fifteen (15) years. The Board will consider the property tax abatement in connection with financing certain public infrastructure improvements primarily consisting of district-wide parking lot improvements through the issuance of general obligation abatement bonds. All interested persons may appear and be heard at the public hearing either orally or in writing, or may file written comments with the District Clerk before the hearing. Dated: January 26, 2022 BY ORDER OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 173 (MOUNTAIN LAKE PUBLIC SCHOOLS), COTTONWOOD, JACKSON, AND WATONWAN COUNTIES, MINNESOTA

/s/ Julie Brugman District Clerk Independent School District No. 173 (Mountain Lake Public Schools), Cottonwood, Jackson, and Watonwan Counties, Minnesota (241 — Jan. 26, 2022)

OFFICIAL PUBLICATION January 4, 2022 Cottonwood County Board of Commissioners Regular Meeting

The Board of Commissioners met at the Cottonwood County Courthouse in Windom, MN. Present for all or portions of the meeting were: Commissioners Larry Anderson, Tom Appel, Donna Gravley, Norm Holmen, Kevin Stevens; County Attorney Nick Anderson, County Coordinator Kelly Thongvivong, Auditor/Treasurer Donna Torkelson, Kathy Marsh, Jessica Welu, Rosemary Bruce-White, Jason Purrington, Nick Klisch, Mark Schenk, and Joel Alvstad.

Routine Items — approved by unanimous roll call or regular vote: to elect Commissioner Gravley as Board Chair for 2022; to elect Commissioner Anderson as Vice-Chair for 2022; to approve the agenda as amended; to approve the minutes of the December 21, 2021 regular meeting; to approve January warrants in the amount of $12,747.85 and broken down as follows: County Revenue Fund — $12,747.85; adjournment.

Personnel Items — to promote Heather Janssen, full-time Jailer/Dispatcher, to the full-time position of Program Coordinator/TAC position on Range 12, Step E ($24.67); to set meal rates for 2022; to set 2022 seasonal wages; to set the minimum salaries for full-time elected officials in 2023 as follows: County Attorney — $50,000; County Auditor/Treasurer — $50,000; County Sheriff — $50,000; and County Recorder — $38,000.

Additional Action Items — to approve the OHV Enforcement Grant in the amount of $5,978 for fiscal year 2022/2023; to authorize the County Attorney, County Sheriff, and Board Chair to sign the 2022/2023 IV-D Child Support Cooperative Arrangement for Child Support Services in Cottonwood County; to hire CliftonLarsonAllen to review the draft ARPA Funds Policy and as a ARPA funds consultant; to set the 2022 meeting dates for the 1st & 3rd Tuesday of each month as presented with the exception of December 7; that all meetings will begin at 9:00 a.m. with the exception of June 21 — Board of Equalization and December 7 — Budget Discussion Meeting (TNT) which will be afternoon meetings; and that 12 additional work sessions can be scheduled with no per diems; to accept the commissioner assignments for 2022 as presented; to pay Auditor warrants with regular and customary payments for 2022; to give blanket approval for year-end 2022 Commissioner Warrants that will be paid after the December 20 board meeting; to authorize the County Auditor/Treasurer and deputies to make electronic transfers; to re-designate official Cottonwood County Depositories; to re-designate official Cottonwood County Brokers; to approve Cottonwood County Citizen as the official county newspaper for 2022; to set the 2022 Contingency Fund for the County Attorney’s Office at $3,000; to set the per diem for committee members other than commissioners at $75 per meeting for 2022; to adopt resolution 22-01-04A “Resolution to Use Alternative Method to Disseminate and Receive Bids and Requests;” to allow the Public Works Department to receive and retain electronic bids effective January 1, 2022; to set the Cottonwood County crop damage rates at $900/acre for corn and $600/acre for soybeans for the 2022 growing season; to allow a one-time, half-price tipping fee of $31.67/ton plus $6.67/ton surcharge plus $5.38 waste tax billed to the cities in Cottonwood County for the use of a city wide clean up in 2022 and allow the Solid Waste Department to pick up mattresses at the city wide events at a charge of $2 per piece. The pick-up price does not include the $15 fee for disposal; to approve the 2022 Fees Charged by County Offices as presented; to transfer the 2017 Ford F150 from Planning and Zoning to Building Maintenance; to close the meeting at 10:41 a.m. to discuss the offer for parcel number 08.022.0100; to open the meeting at 11:03 a.m.

S/Donna Torkelson, Auditor/Treasurer S/Donna Gravley, Board Chair S/Kelly Thongvivong, County Coordinator